A Man and His God

January 31, 2010

Idol Worship for Dummies

Filed under: Uncategorized — navygoat1998 @ 04:56

God never changes. He is the same yesterday and today. Jesus is the author and finisher of our faith. Jesus said I am who I say I am. God “AKA The Burning Bush” told Moses that I am the great I am. So the table is set. God is Jesus and Jesus is God. God is a spirit and Jesus is God in the flesh.

Jesus did not come to do away with the law but to fulfill the law. Jesus came to prove the prophets true.

Who is your god today? Who Do you serve today? Who is your idol today? Could our idols are the made of metal and money? Is your idol you? Is your God the one true living God?

We can have idols today. Idols are anything or anyone that get in the way of God, His plans and our relationship with Him. Ok so for clarification idols are anything that becomes more important to you than Jesus.

Let’s do the idol worshipper Litmus test

– Do you work so many hours you can’t go to church?
– Do you love sports so much that you spend more time in front of the T.V. than with God?
– Are you so in love with a person that you put this person on the throne of your heart before Christ?
– Do you seek the trappings of this world rather than a relationship with Christ?
– Do you spend more time on Face book then your bible? Do you check your email before you check your knee mail?
– Do you love the gifts of God more than the giver of the gifts?

Chances are good that if you have answered yes to anyone of the above listed questions that you in fact are a idol worshipper!!!!!

“Hi my name is Mike” and I have been a idol worshipper off and on in my walk with God. My Jesus who is so loving , He always reminds me that I am going down a dangerous path. One morning as I was sitting at my computer “goofing off” instead of spending my morning devotional time with Him; He told me in the sweetest and just so matter of fact manner, “Mike it’s Ok to have hobbies but it’s not Ok to have idols.”

I know that God enjoys the time I spend with Him, I know that He looks forward to the time we spend together, for I know that my God is crazy about me!!!! That’s why it’s called a relationship not religion.

I pray that the I never let the world drown out the voice of God. Is that your prayer today?

1 Comment »

  1. I to have had many idols in my past. They can creep up on you like the fog. It starts out with just a little mist and the next thing you know you can’t see were you are going. I thank God every day for the Son that burns the fog away so I can See.

    Comment by Emery — February 1, 2010 @ 05:31 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

